Bordentown NJ Reckless Driving Attorneys
Driving at a very high speed or in an unsafe manner is a bad idea for many reasons: it can cause injury to you or someone else, lead to damage of your vehicle or the property of another, result in a traffic ticket, increase your insurance rates, and even lead to reckless driving charges in New Jersey. If you have recently been charged with reckless driving, you are facing potential fines, points on your license, and jail time. However, a charge for reckless driving does not have to result in a conviction. You may have one or more defenses available to you, depending on the facts of your case. An experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer who is very familiar with handling reckless driving cases can counsel you on the best arguments that can be made in your defense. Call the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 856-427-6888 and one of the experienced attorneys at our firm will provide you with a free consultation. Don’t delay in seeking legal counsel for your reckless driving case. With offices in Collingswood, our skilled criminal lawyers defend clients charged with reckless driving, DWI, leaving the scene of an accident, assault by auto, and other offenses throughout Burlington County and New Jersey.
Reckless Driving Charges in New Jersey NJSA 39:4-96
Under New Jersey law, if you willfully or wantonly drive in a manner that thoughtlessly disregards the rights and safety of other people and endangers the safety of a person or property, you may be charged with reckless driving. Reckless driving violations are codified in section NJSA 39:4-96 and are treated very seriously in New Jersey. The penalties for reckless driving in New Jersey increase with each subsequent offense. If you are convicted of reckless driving as a first time offender, you will face fines of $50 to $200 and potential imprisonment of up to 60 days in municipal or county jail. You will also receive 5 points on your license if convicted of reckless driving. If it is your second or subsequent offense of reckless driving, you may be imprisoned for up to 3 months and face fines of $100 to $500.
Defending a Reckless Driving Case in NJ
If you are issued a summons for reckless driving, the prosecutor in your case will have the burden of proving that you committed each element of reckless driving beyond a reasonable doubt. Potential defenses include arguing that the manner in which you were driving did not and was not likely to endanger the safety of others or their property, or that you did not do so willfully or wantonly. Calling into question your motivation or lacktherof can often be a very effective defense for reckless driving. One of the other ways to resolve a reckless driving case is to have the charges downgraded to careless driving, a lesser offense with less harsh penalties. The biggest difference between reckless driving and careless driving in New Jersey is the intention of the driver. Under NJ law, a person is guilty of careless driving if they drive carelessly without due caution in a way that is likely to endanger others or property, whereas reckless driving requires “willful or wanton” behavior. Getting a ticket for careless driving is a much lower bar than being charged with reckless driving. In fact, in New Jersey, careless driving can cover a broad range of circumstances. If a police officer has probable cause to believe you were momentarily distracted and lightly rear ended another vehicle or if you didn’t check your blind spot before changing lanes, they may issue you a careless driving ticket. If your attorney can have your reckless driving charge downgraded, you will have to pay a lower fine and you will only accumulate 2 points on your license, as opposed to 5. This can prevent license suspension and insurance spikes that may come with too many points on your driver’s license.
Reckless Driving Lawyer in Mansfield, NJ
When you feel overwhelmed by the consequences you’re facing for reckless driving in New Jersey, you need an experienced attorney on your side. Leonard D. Biddison and the criminal defense team at our firm have delivered superior outcomes for countless clients in similar situations in Mt Holly, Burlington Township, Bordentown, Evesham Township, Mt Laurel, Mansfield, and throughout the South Jersey area. Call our office anytime at 856-427-6888 or submit an online form to arrange a free consultation. One of our experienced NJ criminal defense lawyers is available immediately to assist you.