Willingboro NJ Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test Lawyer
DWI Defense Attorney in Burlington County, New Jersey
You are pulled over, the police officer asks you some questions: have you had anything to drink today? Perhaps he or she asks you to step out of your vehicle, requests that you perform field sobriety tests on the side of the road. You are nervous, unsure of what to do next. You are asked to blow into a breathalyzer machine. Should you provide a breath test sample? Should you decline? So many unsuspecting New Jersey residents assume they should. However, refusal to submit to a breath test is a serious offense in New Jersey. Under New Jersey’s “Implied Consent” law, you are legally required to provide a breath sample upon request of an officer who has reasonable belief that you are driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence of drugs (DUI). As such, refusing to take a breathalyzer is considered a violation of this law, the penalties of which include mandatory suspension of your driving privileges for between 7 months and 10 years. When facing charges for refusal to take a breathalyzer test or another DWI/DUI offense, police officers and prosecutors seek to punish you to the fullest extent of the law. It is critical to have an experienced NJ DWI defense attorney who can level the playing field.
Leonard Biddison is a ferocious and highly skilled DWI defense lawyer who has been achieving dismissals and delivering superior results for clients charged with DWI offenses for over 20 years. He employs a private investigator, a former New Jersey State Trooper who worked in alcoholic behavior control, to investigate his clients’ cases and find errors in police protocol that can lead to dismissals in court. With Mr. Biddison’s trial skills and exhaustive dedication, he has accumulated thousands of successes in courts in Mount Laurel, Burlington, Willingboro, Gloucester, Mount Holly, and throughout South Jersey. A former DWI client said this about his experience with Mr. Biddison:
“Mr. Biddison was an exceptional Lawyer, who handled my case with great dedication and diligence. His professionalism is unsurpassed, I would definitely hire him to represent me in the future if need be. Thank You.”
To read more of Mr. Biddison’s client reviews, access his profile on Avvo.com. You can also contact his offices at 856-245-5240 for immediate assistance and a cost-free consultation.
Implied Consent Law in New Jersey
New Jersey’s Implied Consent Law is contained in Section 39:4-50.2. This law has two specific components. First, it is a legal assumption that any person who operates a motor vehicle on any public road, street, highway, or quasi-public area in New Jersey, has consented to providing a breath sample if an officer has reasonable grounds to believe that the person is driving under the influence. Second, a person cannot be forced to provide a breath sample, but the officer must inform the person of the consequences of refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test. If the officer suspects that you are driving while intoxicated, he or she will either administer a portable breath test or a formal breath test using the Alcotest 7110 device. A portable breath test is typically used during the motor vehicle stop and is not subject to refusal laws, which means that it is voluntary. However, if you are arrested and taken to police headquarters, the Implied Consent law means that you must provide a breath sample administered using the Alcotest 7110 device.
Refusal to Submit to a DWI Breath Test in New Jersey
The potential penalties associated with a conviction for refusal to provide a breath sample incrementally increases as the number (if any) of previous DWI refusals for which the defendant has been convicted increases. Specifically, if you are found guilty of a first offense for refusal to submit to a breath test, you will lose your driver’s license for between 7 months and 1 year. If your DWI refusal is a second offense, the driver’s license suspension is mandatory 2 years. Lastly, if the breath test refusal constitutes a third or subsequent offense, your driving privileges will be revoked for 10 years. Notice that these sentencing guidelines are strict and concrete. New Jersey does not allow for negotiated pleas in DWI cases, so a conviction for refusal to provide a breath sample inevitably results in these penalties. The State also refuses to provide hardship licenses for those who need to travel to work or school, so a driver’s license suspension applies no what matter. In addition to the loss of license, a first offense DWI refusal carries a fine ranging from $300 to $500, a second offense breath test refusal entails a $500 to $1,000 fine, and third or subsequent breath test refusals carry a mandatory fine of $1,000.
Contact Mount Laurel NJ Refusal to Take a Breathalyzer Lawyer Today
As you can see from the discussion above, refusal to submit to a breath test cases are extremely serious and may spell severe consequences for your everyday life. In other words, they must be beat. If you or someone you love is facing refusal to take a breathalyzer charges or others for a DWI offense in Burlington County or elsewhere in South Jersey, Mr. Biddison has had great success securing dismissals for clients in this same situation. Contact the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 856-245-5240 for additional information and a cost-free consultation.