Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

Mount Laurel NJ DWI Lawyer

DUI Defense Attorney in Burlington County, New Jersey

Your first DWI can be a frightening experience. It may be your first run-in with the law, your first time arrested, and your first time appearing in court. Feeling overwhelmed after such an event is entirely understandable, particularly because the consequences of a DWI conviction can be so life-altering. According to the New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts, in 2011, 82% of individuals convicted of DWI in New Jersey were first-time offenders. Considering that the majority of DWI charges are issued against first-time offenders, tens of thousands of people have been in your shoes each year. New Jersey strictly enforces its driving while intoxicated laws and punishes DWI offenders harshly, imposing mandatory periods of driver’s license suspension for each level of offense. Specifically, for your first DWI offense, you are subject to between 3 and 7 months of driver’s license suspension, depending on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time. Unlike other municipal court cases in New Jersey, there is no room for negotiation in DWI cases. In other words, if you are found guilty, you lose your license for a prescribed amount of time, period.

Attorney Leonard Biddison has been successfully defends individuals charged with DWI offenses in New Jersey and Pennsylvania for over 20 years. With his decades of knowledge and trial experience, as well as the help of his investigator, a former New Jersey State Trooper who formerly worked in alcoholic beverage control, Mr. Biddison is able to deliver superior results for his clients. In courts across Southern New Jersey, including those in Mt. Laurel, Evesham, Willingboro, Pemberton, Mt. Holly, and Burlington County, Mr. Biddison has identified holes in the State’s case which lead to DWI dismissals. A formed client charged with DWI said this about his experience:

“Mr. Biddison was an exceptional Lawyer, who handled my case with great dedication and diligence. His professionalism is unsurpassed, I would definitely hire him to represent me in the future if need be. Thank You.” -Former Client

To read more of Mr. Biddison’s client reviews, visit his individual profile page on Avvo.com. You can also contact his offices at 856-427-6888 for immediate assistance and a cost-free consultation.

First Offense DWI Lawyer in Evesham NJ

New Jersey delineates among three levels of DWI offenses: first offense, second offense, and third/subsequent offense. The penalties associated with a conviction increase relative to the number of previous offenses for which the defendant was found guilty.

First offense DWI is further divided into two categories: offenders with a blood alcohol content (BAC) ranging from 0.08% to 0.10%, and offenders with a BAC above 0.10%. The statute that outlines DWI offenses can be found in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.

The penalties for a first offense DWI with a BAC ranging from 0.08% to 0.10% are as follows:

  • A fine of $250-$400
  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • 3-month license suspension
  • A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years

The penalties for a first offense DWI with a BAC of 0.10% or higher are as follows:

  • A fine of $300-$500
  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • A license suspension between 7 months and 1 year
  • A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years

NOTE: Offenders with a BAC of 0.15% or higher must install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle during the period of license suspension and/or a period of 6 months to 1 year after license restoration.

Contact a Burlington City NJ DWI Attorney for a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a first offense DWI in Burlington County or elsewhere in Southern New Jersey, contact the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 856-427-6888 to discuss your case. Mr. Biddison will answer all of your questions and provide you with a cost-free consultation.

Testimonials

"Phenominal, brilliant attorney!"

"Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat."

David P.

Request a Free Consultation

If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal or DUI offense in New Jersey or Pennsylvania, finding the answers you need to make informed decisions is critical. Complete our contact form to request your free consultation or contact our offices in New Jersey at (856) 427-6888, Philadelphia at (215) 235-5240, or Delaware County at (610) 853-9494.


We are available 24/7 Nights and Weekends to Provide Free Consultations | Hablamos Español

Office Locations

Collingswood
Office

900 Haddon Avenue, Suite 234

Collingswood, NJ 08108

(856) 427-6888Directions

Philadelphia
Office

230 S Broad Suite #1501

Philadelphia, PA 19102

(215) 235-5240Directions

Upper Darby
Office

8234 W Chester Pike

Upper Darby, PA 19082

(610) 853-9494Directions