Mount Holly NJ Second Offense DWI Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorney in Burlington County, New Jersey
There are very few offenses under New Jersey law that require the imposition of a specific, unalterable sentence upon conviction. Second offense DWI represents one of these violations, as it entails a mandatory two-year period of driver’s license suspension for those found guilty, in addition to other penalties. Essentially, this restricts prosecutors from negotiating plea deals with shorter periods of license suspension, and prevents judges from allowing for such agreements in second offense DWI cases. With no judicial or prosecutorial discretion, your options are exceedingly limited if you are charged with second offense DWI. In this position, a dismissal is essential in order to avoid certain consequences, which is why an experienced DWI defense attorney can truly spell the difference between a positive and negative outcome.
Leonard Biddison is a highly skilled DWI defense lawyer who has been effectively representing clients charged with DWI offenses in New Jersey and Pennsylvania for over two decades. Mr. Biddison’s approach to DWI defense is based on extensive knowledge and investigation. In fact, he utilizes a private investigator, a former New Jersey State Trooper who worked in alcoholic beverage control, to identify weaknesses in the State’s case that may provide grounds for a dismissal. Through diligent work and innovative defense strategies, Mr. Biddison has achieved successes in courts throughout Southern New Jersey, including those in Mount Holly, Pemberton, Medford, Mount Laurel, Delran, and Burlington County. As such, he has received a 10.0 “Superb” Rating from Avvo.com as a Top Attorney for DWI/DUI defense. To read some of Mr. Biddison’s client reviews, visit his individual profile page on Avvo.com. You can also contact his offices at 856-245-5240 for immediate assistance and a cost-free consultation.
Second Offense DWI Lawyer in Pemberton NJ
In N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, New Jersey delineates among three levels of DWI offenses: first offense, second offense, and third/subsequent offense. The penalties associated with a conviction increase relative to the number of previous offenses for which the defendant was found guilty. Unlike first offense DWI, the penalties for a second offense DWI do not vary based on the driver’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) at the time.
The penalties for a second offense DWI in New Jersey are as follows:
- A fine of $500–$1,000
- Imprisonment for between 48 hours and 90 days
- 2-year driver’s license suspension
- Between 12 and 48 hours at a State-approved Intoxicated Driver Resource Center ($280 fee)
- 30 days of community service
- An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
- $100 to Drunk Driving fund
- $100 to Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
- Ignition interlock device during license suspension and 1 to 3 years following license restoration
NOTE: In order to be charged with a second offense DWI in New Jersey, your first DWI conviction must have occurred within the last ten years. If your first DWI conviction occurred outside of the ten-year window, there is what is known as a ten-year step-down, which allows you to be charged with a first offense DWI.
Contact a Medford NJ DWI Attorney for a Free Consultation
If you or someone you love has been charged with a second offense DWI in Burlington County or elsewhere in Southern New Jersey, contact the Law Offices of Leonard Biddison at 856-245-5240 to discuss your case. Mr. Biddison will answer all of your questions and provide you with a cost-free consultation.